Android Woes – Getting Marketplace To Work

I’ve had a Windows Phone 7 for some time now and I like the ease of use very much, but at work the Android is all the rage and has a strong internal lobby group. So now I’ve borrowed a nice white HTC Hero to play with, and it seems like a good device, but it has taken me quite a lot of Google’ing today to get the marketplace up and running.

First off, I couldn’t log into the marketplace, but kept getting “Can’t establish a reliable data connection to the server. This could be a temporary problem or your SIM card may not be provisioned for data services.”. Well, as the phone was pre-owned, it appeared that I actually had perform a hard reset to log in with my Gmail account during setup – fortunately I hadn’t updated a lot of stuff, and it was easily done in the settings -> security menu.

Next problem was that when I tapped into the marketplace it never got past the terms of service screen, but just kept spinning. The very odd solution was to turn off WiFi in order to let it access the market place terms via a data connection. Perhaps it wants to know my carrier?

Leave a Reply

