Faulty (Fawlty?) menus in Visual Studio 2010 beta2 running in VMware

Wanting to test VS2010 beta2 in VMware, I installed in my trusty old XP image but unfortunately the dropdown menus didn’t work right – the subitems would only appear one by one if the mouse cursor is moved slowly downwards.

Thinking this might have something to do with the fact that VS 2010 is WPF based, I turned off the VM, went to the VM settings for the display, unchecked the “Accelerate 3D graphics” checkbox, and the world seemed to be good again!

I’ve yet to investigate the further (performance) implications of this.

Previously I’ve had similar problems trying to install Blend 3 on the same XP image (splash screen and OK-button didn’t show up) and I think that the graphics setting may have something to do with this also.

